In this section...

Governing Body

What do we do?

The governing body's role is to ensure high standards of achievement for all children and young people in the school by:

  • Setting the school's vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the head teachers to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


How do we work?

We meet as a full governing body at least once every short term, and attend various other meetings as members of working groups or as individuals, linking with staff members. We talk to pupils, staff and parents in various ways, and the chair meets regularly with head teacher.

We try to have a good understanding and overview of all areas of school life and organisation such as: the school development plan, policies, safeguarding, finance, how all pupils are progressing and how additional funding supports this, staff pay, head teacher performance management, pupil and staff welfare, buildings, health and safety and so on.


How are we constituted?

As an academy, we are one of the schools in the Windsor Learning Partnership. Under the Scheme of Delegation, each school’s Local Governing Body sets its own composition. A Local Governing Body shall not include more than 13 individuals, and that must include:

  • Headteacher, ex-officio
  • At least one, and at most two, staff Governors
  • At least three, and at most five, parent Governors
  • At least three, and at most six, community Governors

If you feel you might like to contribute to the school by being a governor, or supporting the governors in particular ways, please do get in touch by email to:

How do Dedworth Middle School Governors Support the School?

Who are We?

Mr Barry Darvill

Chair of Governors, Community Governor

Mr Andy Titheridge

Headteacher, Staff Governor

Mr Colin Bristow

Vice-Chair of Governors, Community Governor

Mrs Deena Gat

Parent Governors

Mr James Little

Community Governor

Mrs Louise Toulorge

Parent Governor

Mr Nick Parker

Parent Governor

Mrs Carol Watkins

Community Governor

Mrs Heidi Oates

Staff Governor



Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now